Whenever I sit down to make a new mailer I go through four or five ideas working them up with sketches and rough copy. After a day or so it usually becomes clear that one or two of the ideas work better than the rest. However, there are rare occasions when a mailer will get almost finished and then shelved. This was the case on my last mailer.

When the process began I thought it would be nice to commemorate the first year of business under the name SDA so I began sketching ideas with some of the characters that had been produced and created at SDA in 2012. What I ended up with was the image that is posted below. After living with it for a few days I decided it didn’t quite represent the scope of work that SDA produces. It was a fun idea but, it wasn’t quite right for a mailer.

Sometimes you have to go through a few versions to figure out what works best!

Thanks

Tim Stevens: Directing Animator

PostCard_1stAnn_Front_72dpi_01